A cup of tea

 

A lovely cup of tea.

A lovely cup of tea.

It’s cold outside. I believe the temperature is hovering in near zero. And that’s the high for today – this day of blizzards. So, all the drapes are pulled closed to keep this drafty, old house from leaking too much. The fireplace is burning and I’ve pulled up the ol’ laptop to the dining table – a good view of the fire, the kids and the television.

Mariage Frères Marco Polo Tea, to be specific. I first experienced it when I worked for Dean & DeLuca as a copywriter, as it was among a handful of items opened during a photoshoot and divided up. The guys knew I liked tea, so the big tin of leafy happiness was mine. Since I’ve left Dean & DeLuca, I’ve had to pay for my tea. Sad, isn’t it? But a little trip out to their site for a link to post for my readers gave me a little smile – my old copy appears to still be online and helping to sell the product. That’s a boost to the old ego.

Marco Polo tea from Dean & DeLuca

But, beside the lovely, lasting compliment to my copywriting skills and the tea that’s warming my palate and throat, there is something missing.

No cookies.

Bethy concurs.

Bethy checks out the pitiful cookie jar.

Bethy checks out the pitiful cookie jar.

No cookies. There are vanilla cupcakes. There is coffeecake (although I think the dog licked it when he escaped his crate this week…). There is a lovely tin of custard I can whip up in the pantry. But, no cookies.

A quick scan of English food blogs in my bookmarks and killer cookies were found: http://www.donutstodelirium.com/2010/04/ottolenghi-white-chocolate-blueberry-cookies/

But, I don’t think tonight is the night to make cookies. The dishes are done and I can smell the steamy, lemony smell that comes from the dishwasher at the end of it’s humming cycle. The kids were bribed with cupcakes. The husband content with a bit of popcorn.

And me, I think I’ll stick with my tea.

Two sugars, please.

2 Responses

  1. Thank you so much for the mention daaahling!! Let me know how the cookies work out for you if you try them. Have you ever tried the Marco Polo tea jam that MF also makes? Divine!
    Wishing you a very happy Valentines Day.
    *kisses* HH

    • I’ll have to find that tea jam! I love Marco Polo, it’s so tricky to find here. The cookies are on the list, I’ll post and comment ya when I try them. I hope you had a great Valentine’s Day too!

Leave a Reply

