A wintery taste of summer

This blustery, winter morning I went into the laundry room and found the following on the chalkboard…

A Snow Haiku
by Belle

The snow is falling
Children playing in the snow
Marvelous snowfall

 

Gathering wildflowers, summer 2010.
Gathering wildflowers, summer 2010.

Well, the snow (and snow days) might make my daughter want to wax poetic, but it’s starting to make me twitchy. I am starting to think about trips to the lake, sitting on the deck at the cabin, swimming in Buffalo Creek (Okla.) and enjoying a warm evening breeze as I sit on my front porch swing with a glass of Coke and a magazine.

So, for all of us that are longing for the days when we complained about the heat and humidity, I thought I’d share some pictures I shot in July 2010, at Botanica Gardens, Wichita. I hope it makes shoveling the driveway a bit easier later today…

Botanica butterfly, summer 2010.
Botanica butterfly, summer 2010.

 

Little bits of sunshine, summer 2010.

Little bits of sunshine, summer 2010.

 

Lovely floaters, summer 2010.

Lovely floaters, summer 2010.

 

Toss in a coin, summer 2010.

Toss in a coin, summer 2010.

 

Burst of color, summer 2010.

Burst of color, summer 2010.

 

2 Responses

  1. What lovely photos, they make me wish i was not here, in dreary old England, but somewhere lush and tropical… ah, a girl can dream, no?
    *kisses* HH

Leave a Reply

