Our favorite fries

Baked sweet potato fries and "regular" ones, as the girls call them.

Baked sweet potato fries and "regular" ones, as the girls call them.

Confession time! We don’t always eat as healthily as we should. (We did give up soda for Lent – Belle is not very happy about it – but the rest of us are surviving.) One improvement we have made over the past few years is a tasty one, too.  When my elderly Aunt Bonnie decided to wash my Fry Daddy by soaking it in a sink of hot, soapy water – and it was the third one she had “soaked” (so to speak) – I decided it was time to stop frying my pommes frites.  Instead, I had the inspiration that I would bake them. That would save buying a new Fry Daddy, right?  And while I was at it, I would only use olive oil and sea salt. That is healthy for my girls.

Right?

So I did some Googling and found a good average time to bake my fries. And the next sloppy Joe night, I gave them a whirl. I assumed they would get frowns from Belle and the usual “where did you find this recipe?” from John. (Which is his code for “this stinks, lose that recipe stat!”)

And they loved it.

Then Bethy came along, and she loved it.

Problem solved.

And the open space left in my pantry where the Fry Daddy used to sit? Now is home to a snow cone machine for the kids.

I call that a win-win.

So, on to the recipe. I hope your family enjoys our recipe as much as we have over the years. (Oh, and it also is great with steaks!)

You’ll need:

-Potoatoes (I do one medium-sized per person, sweet or baking)
-Olive oil
-Sea salt
-Seasoning (we like Dean and DeLuca spice for dipping oil and McCormick Steak seasoning.)

Slice up your potatoes into wedges, not quartered, but smaller wedges (see photo, below). I leave the skins on for flavor and texture.

Cut them in to small, long, narrow wedges.

Cut them in to small, long, narrow wedges.

Then, I just toss them in a bowl. When finished, simply drizzle oil over the contents of the bowl, add some salt and seasoning and toss well with your hands. Spread into a single layer on a baking sheet and then bake for 15 minutes at 400 degrees.

Arrange potatoes into a single layer on the baking sheet.

Arrange potatoes into a single layer on the baking sheet.

Flip over with spatula then bake for another 15 -25 minutes. We like ours very lightly browned, but if you like your baked fries crunchier leave them in longer. Serve hot!

2 Responses

  1. I love that you make them from scratch. Thanks for the recipe. I’m sure I’ll get around to making them sometime in the next couple years. 😉

    • Did I mention that you can make the batter the night before and then stick it in the fridge? You can. You just have to cook the first side for a bit longer before it will brown/golden up! Saves time in the morning. My girls are both breakfast eaters. I make a hot breakfast almost every day, even in the summer.

Leave a Reply

