By request – Swiss steak

I posted on facebook last week that I had made some terrific Swiss steak from a 20-year old, dog-eared cookbook from my former church. The 40th anniversary Riverlawn Christian Church cookbook was a lifesaver for me when I was a young bride, but for some reason, I had never attempted Sharon Snook’s Spicy Swiss Steak. It might have been the word “spicy.” I love spicy. My daughters love spicy – in fact, I think Bethy’s middle name should have been “curry.” But, the husband loves meat and potatoes. Bland meat and potatoes. So, I had skipped over the recipe in favor of blander meatballs for spaghetti and a couple of sturdy, hearty casseroles.

But, Paula Deen made Swiss steak last month and it brought back memories of my mother’s tender version. So, after talking to my mom and reading the recipe – I combined them and came up with my own version. A husband safe version.

Here’s Sharon’s version:

1 to 2 pounds round steak, cut into serving size
1 medium onion, diced
1 green pepper, diced
1 can Mexican-style tomatoes
1/4 tsp coriander
1/4 tsp curry powder
1 bay leaf
1 tsp garlic powder

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Mix all spices into tomatoes. Set aside. Layer steak into baking dish or roasting pan, top with vegetables and tomato mixture. Cover and bake 1 hour or until meat is tender. Remove bay leaf before serving.

My version? Less exotic (minus the curry powder) and a bit more Italian – hey, they share a border with the Swiss, it’s a valid twist, right?

1 to 2 pounds Sterling Silver round steak, cut into serving size
1 medium onion, diced
1 green pepper, diced
1 red pepper, diced
1 can stewed tomatoes
1 small can tomato paste
1/2 tsp Emeril’s Original Essence Seasoning
1 bay leaf
1 tsp garlic powder

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Mix all spices into tomatoes. Set aside. Layer steak into baking dish or roasting pan, top with vegetables and tomato mixture. Cover and bake 1 hour or until meat is tender. Remove bay leaf before serving.

Two notes: Someone asked “what was wrong” with Riverlawn as I mention it was my “former church.” Nothing. Nada. Great church. Highly recommend it. But, I married an Episcopalian and moved to the east side of town, and the nearby Methodist church became our compromise, “married” church for our family. And, why Sterling Silver specifically? Dude, have you tasted it? YUM. Best beef I’ve sunk my teeth into. Yum, again.

Leave a comment